

15 March 2022

Dear President von der Leyen, Dear Commissioner McGuinness,

While the number of Ukrainian civilians who are displaced, injured or worse, reaches millions, the European Union continues to send money to Russia for the provision of gas. Our dependency on Russian gas funds Putin's war and enables the attacks on the Ukrainian people, its historic cities and the principle of sovereign self-determination that we hold dear.

Your Commission, Member States and this Parliament are clear. We welcome your plan to make Europe independent from Russian fossil fuels. This stands in stark contrast with the proposal to incentivise investments in fossil gas through the Taxonomy Regulation which was decided by your Commission before the Russian invasion of Ukraine. We should transition away from fossil gas, and avoid the increase in its use through the construction of new gas plants. This Delegated Act does the exact opposite.

We were therefore surprised to see that in your REPowerEU plan, this Delegated Act was left untouched. Withdrawing the Delegated Act will increase the focus of investments on truly sustainable energy sources and thereby increase our energy independency. Maintaining the Delegated Act, on the other hand, will only further increase our dependency on gas and our reliance on Russian imports. This would undermine the effectiveness of the REPowerEU plan which we need to succeed.

There is a clear need to end our reliance on Russian gas and transition to renewable sources. Therefore, we demand the Commission to withdraw the Complementary Delegated Act.

Yours sincerely,

Fr	ancois	Alfonsi	Christophe	Hansen
Ra	asmus	Andresen	Martin	Hausling
Er	ic	Andrieu	Anja	Hazekamp
Μ	arc	Angel	Martin	Hojsik
Μ	laria	Arena	Pär	Holmgren
М	largrete	Auken	Yannick	Jadot
	ica	Bah Kuhnke	Agnes	Jongerius
Pe	ernando	Barrena	Petros	Kokkalis
	obert	Biedron	Miapetra	Kumpula-Natri
	enoit	Biteau	Aurore	Lalucq
	alin	Björk	Philippe	Lamberts
	lichael	Bloss	César	Luena
	lanuel	Bompard	Chris	Macmanus
	mona	Bonafé	Fabio	Massima Castaldo
	atrick	Breyer	Marisa	Matias
	elara	Burkhardt	Liudas	Mazylis
	einhard	Butikofer	Nora	Mebarek
	amien	Careme	Silvia	Modig
	nna	Cavazzini	Niklas	Nienass
	ohammed	Chahim	Ville	Niinisto
	ntoni	Comin I Oliveres	Grace	O'Sullivan
	avid	Cormand	Jutta	Paulus
	nazio	Corrao	Mikuláš	Peksa
-	aran	Cuffe	Kira Marie	Peter-Hansen
	kob	Dalunde	Larrouturou	Pierre
	osa	D'Amato	Sirpa	Pietikäinen
G١	wendoline	Delbos-Corfield	Evelyn	Regner
Ka	arima	Delli	Terry	Reintke
		Deparnay-	René	Repasi
Ar	nna	Grunenberg	Thijs	Reuten
Pa	ascal	Durand	Michele	Rivasi
Lu	icia	Ďuriš Nicholsonová	Caroline	Roose
Ba	as	Eickhout	Mounir	Satouri
Εv	/i	Eleonora	Christel	Schaldemose
Co	ornelia	Ernst	Andreas	Schieder
Ni	iels	Fuglsang	Guenther	Sidl
Μ	alte	Gallee	Michal	Šimečka
Al	exandra	Geese	Michal	Šimečka
Di	ino	Giarrusso	Linea	Sogaard-Lidell
Ra	aphaël	Glucksmann	Jordi	Solé
Cl	aude	Gruffat	Tineke	Strik
Sy	/lvie	Guillaume	Paul	Tang
Jo	sé	Gusmão	Vera	Тах
Jy.	tte	Guteland	Marie	Toussaint
He	enrike	Hahn	Ernest	Urtasun

Kathleen	van Brempt
Kim	van Sparrentak
Nikolaj	Villumsen
Marianne	Vind
Bettina	Vollath
Thomas	Waitz
Mick	Wallace
Sarah	Wiener
Michal	Wiezik
Emma	Wiesner
Isabel	Wiseler-Lima
Tiemo	Woelken
Lara	Wolters